Tuesday, February 27, 2024
Tuesday, February 27, 2024
HomeSport'How can you justify that?': Rohit Sharma confronts umpire as Tom Hartley...

‘How can you justify that?’: Rohit Sharma confronts umpire as Tom Hartley explains 2nd Test mix-up against England


Was Ravichandran Ashwin robbed of his 500th Test wicket? Spinner Ashwin was just one wicket away from his 500th in Test cricket after Ben Stokes’ England collapsed to 194-6 at lunch on Day 4 of the second Test against India on Monday. Veteran spinner Ashwin thought he had caught his historic wicket when the match umpire raised his finger following a caught appeal against Tom Hartley in the 62nd over of England’s second innings.

India captain Rohit Sharma celebrates the wicket of England’s Zak Crawley (AFP)

However, the celebrations in the Indian camp were cut short after England opted to conduct a review. The review showed that the ball hit Hartley’s forearm and not his glove, paving the way for the third official to overturn the decision. When it comes to the Decision Review System (DRS), referees must check all possible modes of dismissal. Therefore, the dismissal was also verified by a possible LBW. Since the ball-tracking verdict was based on the referee’s decision, Hartley survived LBW’s review because the original decision for the same dismissal had not yet been issued.

Discover the excitement of cricket like never before, exclusively on HT. Explore now!

ALSO READ: Second Test: Ravichandran Ashwin and Jasprit Bumrah make short work of Bazball as India return to level in series against England

‘How can you justify that?’: Rohit confronts umpire over Hartley review

England’s review sparked controversy as Indian captain Rohit was not satisfied with the final verdict. Rohit also had a long discussion with the on-field umpire over whether LBW’s decision could be given or not. Umpire Chris Gaffaney then informed Rohit that the decision went up because of a catch, not because of LBW. With the ball touching Hartley’s arm, the Englishman was not eliminated even though the referee had declared a caught out.

Bumrah, Ashwin lead India to 106-run win over England

Although Hartley survived the controversial review, the England batsman was unable to extend his stay at the crease when he was cleaned up by ace Jasprit Bumrah, who guided Rohit’s India team to an impressive victory over the visitors. Talking more about Bumrah’s heroics, the senior fast bowler bagged six wickets in the first innings to help India bowl out England for 253 in the first innings. The Indian vice-captain shared six wickets with spinner Ashwin in England’s second Test to seal a huge 106-run victory for the hosts. With a comfortable victory over England in the Visakhapatnam Test, India tied the five-match series 1-1.



Source link

livepress.in
livepress.inhttp://livepress.in
I Am digital marketing enthusiast with a passion for helping businesses thrive in the online world. With a strong foundation in SEO, social media marketing, and content creation, I'm committed to driving impactful growth through innovative strategies.
RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments