Rohit Sharma confronts the umpire in Vizag© Video screenshot
A massive drama-filled episode unfolded during Day 4 of the 2nd Test between India and England when a huge confusion arose over a DRS call. England’s Tom Hartley played a backward shot and India captain Rohit Sharma caught it in the slips. The on-field umpire did not hesitate to raise his finger but Hartley immediately reviewed. An extensive review of the matter showed that the ball had hit Hartley’s forearm and therefore the on-field decision had to be reversed.
However, the confusion intensified after the third arbitrator also verified LBW’s dismissal despite there being no appeal for the previous stage. Ball tracking then showed the LBW umpire’s decision, but Hartley remained not out.
Baffled by the matter in the middle, Rohit confronted the umpire asking why Hartley should not be out if the on-field decision was out. The umpire then explained to the Indian captain that the decision had been taken by the on-field umpire for a catch in the stands, and not for LBW.
India, however, did not have to wait long to make a breakthrough after the incident, with Jasprit Bumrah attacking to break the Ben Foakes-Tom Hartley partnership. A few overs later, Mukesh Kumar took his first wicket of the innings to dismiss debutant Shoaib Bashir.
It was Bumran who struck again to give England the final blow and help India level the five-match series at 1-1. He dismissed Tom Hartley, who fought hard for his 36 off 47 balls to keep England in the hunt for victory.
Although England’s ‘Bazball’ approach did not reap the rewards it wanted, Ben Stokes’ men came close to doing the unthinkable against India.
Topics mentioned in this article.