Monday, February 26, 2024
Monday, February 26, 2024
HomeSportIyer was left out of the remaining three Tests against England; ...

Iyer was left out of the remaining three Tests against England; Kohli not available

Shreyas Iyer was left out of India’s squad for the remaining three Tests against England. Ravindra Jadeja and KL Rahul are part of the 17-member list but their availability is subject to physical clearance from the BCCI medical team. Both had missed the second Test, Jadeja due to a hamstring injury and Rahul due to a quadriceps problem.
Bengal seamer Akash Deep has received his first Test call-up while Virat Kohli remains unavailable due to personal reasons.

In the first two Tests, Iyer was the only senior Indian batsman, apart from Rohit Sharma, who did not register a significant score: he scored 35 and 13 in Hyderabad, and 27 and 29 in Visakhapatnam. Considered one of India’s best batsmen against spin, Iyer, however, struggled in both his defense and his strokeplay.

ESPNcricinfo learned that Iyer had experienced back spasms a day or two after the second Test but was cleared for selection. Meanwhile, Rajat Patidar, who made his debut in Visakhapatnam and scored 32 and 9, has retained his place, as has Sarfaraz Khan, who is not capped.

Deep was impressive in the recent three-match red-ball series against the England Lions, finishing as the leading wicket-taker for India A with 11 wickets at 18.72. Earlier, he was part of India’s Asian Games-winning team and was also included in the KL Rahul-led squad for the ODI series in South Africa.

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj and Mukesh Kumar are the other seamers in the team. Mohammed Shami, who is recovering from an ankle injury, remains out of action. His last appearance for India was in the ODI World Cup final in November.

The five-match Test series against England currently stands at 1-1. The third Test begins on February 15 in Rajkot, before the teams move to Ranchi for the fourth match starting February 23. The fifth and final Test will be played in Dharamshala from March 7.

India squad for England’s last three Tests

Rohit Sharma (captain), Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Dhruv Jurel (wk), KS Bharat (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar , Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep

Source link
I Am digital marketing enthusiast with a passion for helping businesses thrive in the online world. With a strong foundation in SEO, social media marketing, and content creation, I'm committed to driving impactful growth through innovative strategies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments